instiki: your very own wiki

by

If you are looking for an easy way to organize yourself Instiki might be for you. It is a wiki+server in a box, based on ruby, and runs locally on your PC/MAC/Lunix.

On my MAC I use Version 0.92 to organize all the various bits of knowledge, I would like to have quick access to, later on. Ver 0.92 seems to be the last version that runs easily i.e. stand alone on a MAC. You can get Ver 0.11p1 but you’ll have to go through quite an installation to get it running. However, the people over at instiki are feverishly working on getting Version 0.11p1 to run out of the box on a MAC, too.

Note to Ver 0.92: There seems to be a bug with exporting your wik. I will keep you posted, when I find a solution.

[Update instiki Export bug]: Ok, here is what I did to fix the export bug: in the file wiki.rb (included in the download) I have deleted the string ../../ from line 4. Now my exports work. One last catch is that after exporting all links to pages with names, that should have a + in it (for example [[this and that]] becomes this+and+that in instiki language don’t link, because they are exported to this and that.html. Anyway, they do exist. I will just avoid such links from now on.

[Update 2: it crashed – big time] Ok, instiki crashed on me. Maybe I should not have played around with newer versions (discovering, that if developer tools are installed on your mac, higher versions seemingly do work), maybe I should not have done a lot of things … it crashed! (%&$(/%$(/& it wont start up again! it wont start up again! thank god, i did one thing: fix this export bug, so at least my terribly valuable knowledge was preserved in the textile formated files.

What did I do after I started breathing again? Right, I got a full blown mediawiki running on my mac, just for me, alone, yes. MediaWiki is what is behind Wikipedia by the way, so a few million beta testers couldn’t be wrong. How i did that and what happened shortly after that I will tell you in one of the next posts ….

… stay tuned.

One Response to “instiki: your very own wiki”

  1. HelloWorld Says:

    Peace people

    We love you

Leave a Reply

