macbook mouse move graphics error and fix

by

This is what happened: suddenly the lower half of the upper half of my screen started to jump approximately 1 pixel up and down, when my mouse crossed a certain horizontal line on the screen + I had two vertical 1 pixel offsets in my screen + I couldn’t grab the effect in a screen shot, because everything was fine in a screen shot. It didn’t really jump a lot – so the screen was usable – just the bit, that makes your unconsciousness go really crazy with the thought ‘right, thats my graphics card, minimum time after guaranty expiry’ …

If you just want to fix it, jump to the ‘quick solution’, while I rant on here …

Things that you can do, but that don’t really help

You can clean up your startup list of programs, and remove everything – doesn’t fix the problem, but my mac starts with light-speed again. You can remove the desktop background – well this one I put back in place by now. You could restart, change the screen resolution, the number of colors displayed, go through lots of forums … or:

The quick solution

I had a basically unused spare account on my mac, and copied the com.apple.universalaccess.plist from this account, and replaced my version on my account. BAM. fixed. (this took the better part of a day)  Note that from the preference panel point of view, universal access was turned off all the time during this episode.

7 Responses to “macbook mouse move graphics error and fix”

  1. katharina + markus Says:

    Thanks a lot! This saved our day!

  2. Jur Says:

    I think i have the same problem here, reinstalling osx now. I have a vertical band of pixels moving on the middle my when i move my mouse in the same area on the screen, i will try the com.Apple.universallaccess.plist later on. Keep you posted, thx in advance!

  3. Jur Says:

    Nothing works… 😦 Still have a band of disturbing pixels on the screen, i’m affraid it’s an hardware problem. Going to the mac store this afternoon

  4. caty Says:

    when you said universal access, something in me clicked, you have to turn the zoom function off and it fixes the horrid problem!!

  5. Dreadly Says:

    Wooo! Nicely caught, caty. Thanks. 🙂

  6. nathan Says:

    awesome….that fixed it!

  7. Jean Carlo Schechnner Says:

    To desactivate the zoom fix to me but how i can activate the zoom again without this problem?

Leave a Reply

